[newest entry]
[older entries]
[contact me]
[diaryland]

2003-02-20

i didn't go to work today. and that turned out to be one of the best decisions i've ever made. i had a nice day at home. i was at my bar and this guy told me how long it took him to get to work and how miserable it was. he saw a fight break out on the metro and i was like "phew!". i could not have handled that. although i don't think it'll be that much better tomorrow.

so i was sitting there happily reading the two towers and having a beer. i got some guacamole which i never do. i was calm. it was nice. this girl heidi* came in and she was talking to the owner, carrie. heidi is another regular and i think she's cool. i asked carrie how much money they'd raised last thursday, but she said they hadn't counted it all yet. i told her that i'd tried to do my part and she said that she noticed. i said that i didn't think i was drunk enough to be there. then she asked me what happened with me and this guy mark. i was literally pushing him off of me at one point. so i explained to her that he was just a drunk touchy-feely person, and i was a not drunk enough NOT-touchy-feely person. she said she'd kind of gotten that vibe. So then i told carri and heidi that the thing that had really bothered me was that guy who'd hit on my last week and totally creeped me out. and god bless them they sympathized immediately. and they both said how much they didn't like him but that they thought he was moving out of the area soon, so we should all be ok. so as we were talking about the little pip-squeak (for that is what he is), he walked in the door.

and he sat down right next to me. three people at the bar, he sits next to me.

i'm so lucky. i just kept reading. carrie, god bless her, talked to him. carrie asked him right away if he was going to be moving soon. then they were talking about the demonstrations around the world over the weekend. he made some lame comparison to ronald reagan and how people protested his handling of the cold war THUS PROVING MY POINT. those idiots think they're the reagan administration and that it's 1983 and not 2003.

heidi got up to go. i begged her to stay. i offered to buy her alcohol. but she couldn't. i said "god hates me" she said "yeah, he probably does".

carrie left but not without wishing me luck. he turned to me and asked me what i was up to and i said "just readying my book" and he said "not anymore, you're talking to me". and i said, "i don't know about that" and kept reading.

i'll be honest i wasn't reading. i was just staring at the pages thinking "i hope this is pissing him off".

he made some big show of wanting to go get a paper. and i almost took the opportunity to beg the bartender to talk to him so he'd leave me alone. but he came right back. then this other guy, tim said he'd go get a paper. lucky for me.

so wormy asks me if i'm a harry potter fan, and i said that i was. no need to lie. then he said he'd tried to read lord of the rings and that he'd seen the movies. he screwed up his little face and turned up his little nose and said he didn't like it. an opportunity to disagree. i took it. i said that the two towers was one of the best movies i'd seen in my life. he seemed shocked. i said that it was the second best movie going experience of my life right after empire strikes back. THEN he talked shit about Empire and the ending. to ME. can you imagine??

ok. so not only does he work for the spawn of satan, he didn't like two towers, didn't like empire. why is he even breathing the same air as i do?? he DOES like star trek and have 57" tv, but i suspect that's to make up for other deficiencies.

then he tried to tell me that lucas is going to do episodes 7, 8, and 9. i explained to him how and why he was so wrong and where he could go to see for himself that i was right and he was wrong. and i said that star wars was the one thing about which i would not tolerate anyone disagreeing with me unless i felt like they were as learned as i (am now or once was) which he was not. fucker.

i really wanted to leave at this point and get some food to go. but lara and i had tried to dig out my car. which was very tiresome and we didn't actually manage it. so i was hungry and tired. i ordered some food.

lucky for me he'd gotten a paper and started to do the crossword puzzle.

i ate my dinner in peace and watched basketball.

he asked me about my job, which is soooo DC and so lame. then he told me i was lucky to have a job. actually he leaned over and poked me on the shoulder and told me i was lucky to have a job. and i wanted to say "no thanks to your boss" but then i said "yeah, i'm lucky to have a job that i hate".

he talked to the bartender for a bit. he told jospeph how he'd found a date for some function. an INTERN. a white house intern. we all know what they're like.

i needed a break so i went to the loo. unfortunately, i had to come back.

he said that he had the feeling i didn't like him very much and that was ok with him. i neither confirmed or denied that because even i don't like to have to say to someone "i don't like you". i said "maybe i treat everyone this way" and he said "you probably do". i just shrugged my shoulders. but then i told him that i didn't like how he thinks i shouldn't be allowed to sit at a bar and read. especially since he was sitting there doing the fucking crossword. i told him i resented that. i told him he was a hypocrit.

he said that he had a friend that he thought I'd get along with. he said some stuff about here and he said she was a black girl. i said "well everyone should have that one good black friend". i think i may have offended him (i hope so because i was trying to), but he said that she would have been offended by that remark. and i said that she wouldn't. and went on and on about what good friends they are. Why do white people have to tell black people what great friends they are with one black person or another???

I got the check, so I had to wait for that. then i needed change so i had to wait for change.

pip-squeak went on about his black friend saying that he'd ask her to meet him tonight but she was working late "i said to her 'oh that affirmative action thing isn't working out for you is it?'" i said i was sure she didn't like that as i got up and put on my coat.

"i guess some of us have to settle for affirmative action if we can't get jobs as a legacy".

he didn't get it. "i mean it would be great if we could all get into colleges or get jobs just because our father had that job."

blank stare.

i said good bye to him. the little fucker said to me again how he was sure there'd be episodes 7 8 and 9. i said "you're wrong" and walked out the door.

i sincerely hope he thought i was a bitch.

this wouldn't upset me so much if it didn't happen in a place where i usually feel very comfortable or if it hadn't happened in front of this guy i liked for so long but of course had not interest. it is upsetting. and it is frustrating.

hey, if he's a short up tight republican or some black guy with a jeri curl and gold teeth...then he's all mine! wow. there must really be something wrong with me. maybe i should accept jesus christ as my person savior or something.

i hope he leaves me alone.

i've spent 45 minutes typing this and i've missed my fucking show.

previous / next