[newest entry]
[older entries]
[contact me]
[diaryland]

2001-05-02

Sometimes when I walk home I listen to music. I stroll along. A confident gait. Inside my head I�m rockin� out. And I pretend for a second that I�m actually cool.

On to Monday.

Well, the weather was pretty crappy, but not intolerable. I think Monday stands out because we were so determined to find things to do. We headed out and bought a copy of The List. I wonder if they have a web site? They should. Anyway, we went through it. The first thing that popped out was James Ellroy in Glasgow on Wednesday. Cool. Wednesday was settled. We looked at galleries, movie listings, even the opera. I know. I told you we were determined.

We settled on a gallery, the Ink Tank. Hit the road. Took the bus up to Princess Street. Got me some coffee. Praise the Lord. The proliferation of Starbucks in Scotland is not as pronounced as it is here, but it�s definitely a force to be reckoned with. The nice lady gave Ben directions. I sort of listened, but not really. I was too busy caffeinating. I was enjoying seeing bits of the city I hadn�t seen yet. We headed down a hill looking for St. Stephen�s street and had a very nice conversation about how Ben was my bitch. Which meant at the very least that he was an excellent and gracious host. Did it also mean that I�m an needy annoying demanding guest? I don�t know. Ask Ben.

We stopped a nice girl in a nice brown coat to ask her for directions. As it turned out she worked at the gallery and told us that since she was the only one working that day, the place was closed while she was at lunch and that we should try in an hour. Which was fine. We piddled around for an hour. I dragged Ben into one shoe store, but that was only for a couple of minutes. We spent most of that hour looking at CD�s. Did you know there�s a band called Spearmint? I almost spent eight pounds on their CD.

Shit, I am rambling on here, aren�t I?

The show we saw at the gallery was small, but really nice. I forget the name of the photographer, but it was pictures from the western US. Digitally reproduced so the colors were really interesting. Which is kind of an understatement, but like I said, I can�t write about art. We got free contact sheets because we�d made such an effort to get there.

We went to lunch at this small place with one huge table in the middle of it. Everything was in French. French cuisine is not my expertise, but I know a good potato leak soup and that�s what I had. And some good bread. The music was crap though. French pop = crap. Sinatra is ok, but it seemed out of place. I got into how Sinatra died around the same time as Phil Hartman. Ben, being a huge Simpsons fan, didn�t know who Phil was, so I explained it. I miss Phil Hartman.

Everyone knows I have a bad attitude. During lunch, I said something characteristically Terri. I can�t help it. Ben didn�t like it and tried to explain to me what my problem is. All I could say was that there was one very large root to my problem. He seemed to think that was funny. Hardy har har.

After that, he went off to do student-type stuff and I wandered around trying to do some shopping. I even tried on bras. What was I thinking? So I went back to the Fruitmarket and bought some postcards. Then I headed up the hill to Fopp and bought a CD. Hit Boots to buy some girly stuff ( a couple of make-up brushes which are actually very nice) and then back to the flat.

The plan for Monday night was dinner with Lee and his boyfriend Colin. Lee: most heinous crush ever. Well, I guess now he�s number two on that list. I honestly think I was in love him for a very brief period. But what do I know about such things? Of course he�s gay. I wish he�d told us.

Anyway, I was very excited. Jumping up and down like an idiot. I even put on make-up. Mostly for myself. I just wanted to look as good as I could at least one day I was there. I wanted to put on lipstick and make-up and a nice shirt and not feel like a lump of something you�d scrape off your shoe, especially after the night before. I don�t remember the last time I was so careful putting on make-up. It was hard. Those brushes came in handy. Ben said I looked very smart, which is what I was going for. The look, NOT the remark.

So we got the restaurant. I admit we made a scene, but a small one. I don�t think I screamed too loudly when I saw Lee, but it was obvious to anyone looking that we were happy to see each other and that it had been a long time. Lee, God love him, said I�d lost loads of weight. I wish I could understand why people always remember me being fatter that I am/was. Oh well. One of life�s mysteries.

Dinner was great. Colin was very nice. They make a great couple. Lee hasn�t changed much at all. He told us all about being a scientist. And they tried to get me to run for President. I think I talked too much. And of course, dinner with Lee is not complete without profiteroles.

Afterwards we went to a freaky themed bar. I just remember skeletons. I got drunk. Lee almost got me into trouble. �So if Terri�s sleeping in your room, where are you sleeping?� and lots of other comments that got Ben banging on the table shouting �I�m not that kind of bitch!!� Then a bunch of really annoying smokers came in and we left.

I stayed up late that night mocking the cinematic tour de force How to Make an American Quilt. What a bunch of shite. After that, I retired, and did something I shouldn�t have done. [And since this isn�t a confessional, I won�t put in here. Ask me about it in person and I�ll tell you � if you�re a girl. I�m not proud, but I don�t regret it.]

I did have trouble sleeping that night because of all my pent-up-edness. I don�t remember what I did. I don�t think I took a benadryl because I�d been drinking. I think I just sucked up. Stuck it out. What�s the term for that? Two apparently opposite phrases that colloquially mean the same thing? Beats me.

previous / next