[newest entry]
[older entries]
[contact me]
[diaryland]

2001-04-30

Leave town. And I did.

Before I go on to the next day of my trip, let me state first that it is a Monday morning. Second, my sinuses are on fire and my throat feels like it's been cleaned with a wire brush.

Bear with me.

On Saturday I went to Glasgow for the first time in 9 years.

Good ol� Scotrail. I spent most of the ride staring out of the window and waiting for my coffee to cool down. A white coffee. A caf� americano with milk (about 50/50), but where are the americanos that drink it that way? I love dairy and all, but sheesh. ( When I was at Starbuck�s on Thursday all they had was milk and skim milk. I asked for cream and he looked at me like I was insane. But then he gave me some whipping cream-bonus!)

Queen Street Station, located a few blocks from where I used to live. As we pulled into the station I saw a huge shopping center. And that was my first glimpse of how Glasgow has changed over the years. I saw Susan waiting for me. She must have been thinking about something �cause she didn�t see me walk right by her. She hasn�t changed. I don�t think I have. Tell someone who�s 22 that you don�t think you�re much different at 29 than you were at 20. Would they believe you?

Anyway, it was great to see Susan. Weird for about a second. I think we were helped along by the fact that we were on a mission. Susan needed a dress for a wedding, and I pride myself on my skills as a shopping assistant. Need help spending money? I�m your gal. Also, I got to hear about her love triangle. Wicked, wicked girl!

Once we got through the mall (which was new to me) we hit Buchanan Street, someplace I used to go all the time. The weather was pretty good. The large department stores brought back a lot a memories since I spent a lot of time in them, just browsing or whatever. They smelled the same. And were full of really ugly clothes. Debenham�s came through in the end and we found a great dress. Susan�s going to look pretty damn hot. I ended up buying a coat at the Gap, but I SWEAR, it�s not a coat I could get here. I swear it. Honest. (And it�s a good thing I got it, too. It really came in handy later on. )

We had lunch at Princess Square. I used to go there a lot because it was the only place I could get frozen yogurt. It was also the first place I�d ever had turbinado sugar. We did a lot of catching up at that point. No, I don�t feel like an underachiever at all.

AND I saw that same group of Indian film makers on Buchanan Street. They looked so out of place, it was great. We also hit Argyle Street. More memories. (sigh) Then Marks and Spencer. I sat on the floor with my stuff. Looking and feeling totally �knackered�. Soooo many people. Soooo many stores�Like Tyson�s � only worse.

Once we were done shopping we headed to George Square so I could see how they�d ruined it. They got rid of some nice trees. I stood there and looked up the street. I could see a Strathclyde building and it was weird. I didn�t want to see it. That�s not why I was there. I don�t know what I have against nostalgia, but being on that street at that moment made me uncomfortable. I was eager to get on a train and get to Helensburgh. My bag was heavy as shit, and you may recall that I hadn�t gotten much sleep the night before.

Saturday night we went to a Buddha-themed bar: Bar Budda. I wanted to ask if any Buddhists had ever complained, but I didn�t. Then it occurred to me that I could open a Jesus themed bar, called Bar Jesus. That would be great. I might do that. It was actually a really nice place. Great atmosphere. Dark. Candles. Good food. I didn't care much for the wait staff, but that's ok.

I got stupid drunk at Bar Budda. 4 pints. No small feat. Drunk, obnoxious, boisterous cackling American. It was great. Susan kept sending/receiving text messages from her man (one of them, anyway) and I kept giving her shit. I don�t know how she managed two �cause apparently there are no men in Helensburgh. By the time we left that place was wall to wall blond. Scary. Hair flipping everywhere. Ugh. I hate that. �Look at me! look at my hair! I am my hair�� You�d think I�d stand out as being exotic and that my chances would be good. Not so, my friend.

So we left and got some chips.

I slept very well at Susan�s. Partly because of my deficit. Partly because I was drunk, but mostly because her sitting room is set up like mine and I fell asleep watching tv. Even though it was a sleeper sofa, I refused to let her pull it out. She thought I was crazy. I felt right at home.

previous / next