[newest entry]
[older entries]
[contact me]
[diaryland]

2000-10-11

It�s late. I shouldn�t be writing in here this late in the day. I�ve spent the last week getting up at 7 AM on the dot. I�m not sure how I�ve managed it. And I know that come Thursday, I�ll go right back to getting up an hour late at 8:30.

I�ve decided to read Possession again. Partly because it�s going to be a movie with Ralph and Gywneth (who else is there?). I want to have the book relatively fresh in my mind so that I can hate the film. Anyway, it�s a brilliant book, one meant for truly literary intellectuals. I�m not one of those and occasionally I have to stop and think about the roots of words and their context in order to figure them out. I could use a dictionary, but looking at these words, you don�t believe they are real. A.S. Byatt is over my head most of the time. I manage to muddle through. I was reading on the metro this morning and one of the characters put forth the idea that diaries and journals are useless to a woman. A Victorian woman. Why? Because one should have no use for morbid self examination. So I spent the day thinking about that. And thinking about whether or not my methods of self dissection are good or bad. They�re definitely rational. I pride myself on that.

HA! What a crock.

(yawn)

Oh, and I�ve been going back and forth about including this page on my own site (when I have one�and I will). Right now, I think not.

I did a couple of inappropriate things today. Consequences? Perhaps.

I need exercise.

I�m looking forward to Clarendon Day.

previous / next