[newest entry]
[older entries]
[contact me]
[diaryland]

2001-02-05

On Saturday morning, I got up early thinking I could hop on the train to Union Station and then walk a couple of blocks to the bus terminal. How stupid was that? The trains don�t even start running until 8. I thought about checking, but I didn�t. I�m an idiot. So I had to take a cab downtown. It wasn�t so bad. I got there. And it�s not like I should have rushed. Buses to NY leave every 30 minutes. I ended up on the 7 am bus when I was shooting for the 8 am. So I got to NY at 11 am. Ben wasn�t supposed to meet me until around 12:20. Duh. But I guess that fits my pattern of getting to places early and waiting around for people. I think it�s just beyond my control.

So I got to New York. Got some coffee. Started reading my book. Watched the people go by. For a while, I was worried that I wouldn�t remember what Ben looked like. It�s like I remembered individual characteristics, but not everything put together. Silly, I know. I knew he'd be in a fireman's coat if I had any trouble. I didn't. He showed up around 12:30.

We walked around Times Square for a bit. Soooo many people. Mostly tourists. Loads of traffic. Just like the New York I see on tv every morning. We went into the MTV store. A joke. A tiny space full of teenie-boppers and shoddy merchandise. It was the only theme/network store I went into.

Then we got some lunch. (this isn�t very interesting is it? Not a very exciting read, sorry) I guess it should have been weird to be hanging out with someone after just emailing for months and months. But it wasn�t. It was cool. It think it�s probably impossible to feel the slightest bit uneasy or awkward around Ben. His personality makes it impossible. So we caught up a little at lunch. He told me about his week in the States.

We decided to go to the Museum of Television and Radio. Which is on 52nd Street. I mention that because about 4 or 5 people told us it was on 53rd street. We spent forever looking for it. If you want directions to some place, call that place and get the address. Don�t ask a New Yorker on the street. You�d think they�d know. They don�t. People were asking ME for directions. I guess I looked like I live there and not like a tourist. And to maintain that illusion I made Ben ask for directions all the damn time. Any way, it was like we made an orbit around the museum before we found it. We even walked by it once we got to 52nd street. Oops.

The museum was pretty cool. Apparently they had a library, and they run seminars. And everyday they show all kinds of programs. We saw a one about George Carlin which was good. And a 20 year old tv special about the special effects in Empire Strikes Back. I saw the schedule and they were showing an Animaniacs cartoon that day. I love tv. Love it.

Then we had to get me checked into my B&B. So I had my first experience with the subway. I was confounded. Ben probably thought I was insane. I couldn�t understand it. I couldn�t get my brain around it. What I really wanted to know was �how does one understand this system? what do you see around you that tells you what to do and where to go? I ask because I want to understand�. But it came out like �is this right? how do you know this is right???? where are we going?? � I�m sure I sounded like a freak and like I was questioning his judgememt. And I�m sure it was really annoying. I was just looking around at the signs and the trains and not understanding any of it. I was just trying to get a grip on my surroundings. I hated it. Stupid subway. I like our little mickey mouse train system. Red, Blue, Orange, Yellow, Green. I will never understand the NY subway system. I don�t want to. I don�t care how high my IQ is supposed to be. It won�t happen.

Again, dear reader, I realize this can�t be too too interesting for you. Mostly I just want to get all this down. I�m going to do it in sections. �Cause there�s a lot left.

NEXT

previous / next